TOKYO, JAPAN - SEPTEMBER 24: Caroline Wozniacki of Denmark celebrate winning Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova of Russia during the women's singles final matchduring day seven of the Toray Pan Pacific Open Tennis At Ariake Coliseum on September 24, 2017 in Tokyo, Japan. (Photo by Koji Watanabe/Getty Images)

Caroline Wozniacki Is Just the Eighth Player to Do This

TOKYO, Japan - By defending her title at the Premier-level Toray Pan Pacific Open this past week, Caroline Wozniacki achieved something only seven other players had done in the Open Era.

Wozniacki became just the eighth player to win a WTA title every year for 10 years in a row:

~ Martina Navratilova (21 straight years from 1974 to 1994)
~ Chris Evert (18 straight years from 1971 to 1988)
~ Steffi Graf (14 straight years from 1986 to 1999)
~ Maria Sharapova (13 straight years from 2003 to 2015)
~ Virginia Wade (11 straight years from 1968 to 1978)
~ Evonne Goolagong (11 straight years from 1970 to 1980)
~ Serena Williams (11 straight years from 2007 to 2017)
~ Caroline Wozniacki (10 straight years from 2008 to 2017)

For most of 2017 it looked like Wozniacki’s streak was in jeopardy, as she reached six finals but finished runner-up every time, in Doha (to Karolina Pliskova), Dubai (to Elina Svitolina), Miami (to Johanna Konta), Eastbourne (to Pliskova), Bastad (to Katerina Siniakova) and Toronto (to Svitolina).

But Wozniacki made it seventh time lucky in Tokyo, beating Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova in straight sets for her first WTA title of the year, the 26th WTA title of her career, and to keep her streak alive.

That wasn’t Wozniacki’s only impressive feat in Tokyo. In the semifinals, the former World No.1 upset the current World No.1, Garbine Muguruza, 6-2 6-0, in the Spaniard’s first tournament as World No.1.

Wozniacki had also beaten Karolina Pliskova in her first tournament as No.1 in Toronto this year:

Before those wins, Wozniacki was actually the only World No.1 in the history of women’s tennis never to have beaten a reigning World No.1 herself - now she has two wins over No.1s this year alone.

Read more articles by John Berkok

Share This Story